Bendy me!

Today was stretch day on the calendar.  I did the two stretch videos and then worked on some other stretches myself. I am getting more flexible.  One move that I hadn’t been able to do in the video before, I was able to do today!  That was cool.  I felt so good afterward, that I got down and did some more stretches.  One day I will get into a split!  I was never able to when I was younger, but I actually think I’m more flexible now than then.  Of course I think I weighed less than 100 pounds back in the day.  I was a stick! 😛

Unfortunately, the stick became a trunk. I put on a lot of weight.  August of 2013 a friend asked if I wanted to go walk on the trail here in town.  I did.  That started me on the journey I’m on today.  Two years and four months later, I’m still walking, tracking what I eat, and feeling better.  I have lost pounds and inches.  Everytime I look at my new clothes, I can’t believe that I actually do fit in them!  I took a picture some months back of myself in a pair of shorts I was wearing when I started my walks and they look HUGE.  This, more than anything else makes me know I’m doing the right thing by getting into shape.

I won’t be at my goal weight by the end of this year as I had hoped, but I’m not that upset.  I know that I’m doing great. I’m down from a size 20 + to a 12.  That is a big deal.  I look like a completely different person and that is wonderful.  I like what I see in the mirror.  I still can’t believe it’s me! It was a struggle to change from eating anything and everything I wanted to watching what I eat, but it’s worth it.

Yes, I eat the occasional cheat meal and it’s fabulous.  When I cheat, I cheat good! ;p  Okay, I’m rambled enough.  This started out as how bendy I was after today’s workout.  It ended up being about my journey.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

